Getting Reacquainted


When I haven’t seen my granddaughter in 10 weeks, meeting her again always surprises me. At two-and-a half, children change rapidly, and we currently have only one grandchild.  So, as carefree retirees, Dave and I decided last Friday to simply drive to Georgia and surprise Little Stuff. Since her maternal grandparents had come to Statesboro for the weekend, we stopped and spent the night at their house in Augusta. On Saturday morning we casually drove here and pulled into the driveway where Brent and Dad Davenport stood staining a piece of furniture they’d made. They recognized who had come into the drive and chuckled. Brent suggested we ring the doorbell to check the reaction. However, Gran Davenport opened the door, but when Little Stuff saw who we were, she almost jumped into her Grandpa’s arms. Her height, growing abundance of curls, and increased vocabulary startled us. When did her sentences open with “Actually”? As in “Actually, Grandma, Brie’s food is in the laundry room!” She chatters; we listen and interact with her. Even when she falls asleep, we stand at her bedroom door and just stare at this emerging person. Joy, sheer joy, floods us when we see her.

How like God with us. He longs for us to get reacquaint daily. He has new insights to show us from Scripture,a deeper communication from conversations we have together,  a desire to simply have us remain silent and revel in who He is. Having taught English for over 30 years, I gained a familiarity with many novels and plays. I reread very few annually; instead, I’d skim my underlinings and notes. The Bible possesses greater depth and application. Scripture alone takes me to new depths when I reacquaint myself with it regularly. The Bible helps, computer aids, and well-constructed study questions available now make in-depth study so accessible. However, the text itself speaks. Hebrews 4:12-14 clearly states, “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account. Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has gone through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess.” While verse 12 is often memorized, I can stop thinking too soon if I don’t continue reading. The following two verses remind me of the awe and majesty of the God to  whom I will give account. Like Little Stuff, who quickly jumped into her Grandpa’s arms, I know I too want to leap into the loving arms of my heavenly Father,

Leave a Reply

