And Wait in Expectation…


Spring comes slowly to Garrett County as winter begrudgingly yields to warmer weather. So those of us who witnessed 260 inches of snow this winter now wait in expectation. After the delicate Sarvis blossoms appear in the woods, we get one more dusting, commonly referred to here as the Sarvis snow. Next we watch for tiny pansies called violetas, followed by daffodils, tulips and hostas. The Mountain Laurel Garden Club met last week, and members brought in a wide variety of daffodils, the likes of which I hadn’t ever seen. My gracious neighbor brought in what looks like a small bouquet of roses, but the small white clustered blossoms are a variety of daffodil. Always one to share bulbs from her garden, Joan also gave me the buttery variety of daffodil I currently call my favorite.The mysterious violetas migrate throughout my Houghton Garden (everything in there sports shades of purple or gold, the colors of my alma mater), seeming to multiply with very little sun or water. They have moved from the front of the bed to the back, probably choosing to stay warm near the foundation of the house. finally, the hostas have poked their tiny leaves through the soil, so I rushed out yesterday  to spray Deer Off on them. If I fail to spray them,.they quickly become “deer salad.” Psalm 5

Psalm 5 has something to say about expectation and anticipation as it relates to conversations God and I have. King David writes, “Give er to my words, O  Lord, consider my sighing. Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray. In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.”

Do my prayers always reflect a “waiting in expectation”? Not always, but as another Grandma and I have begun to pray on the phone each week for our grandchildren, I have an emerging sense of waiting in expectation for our “grands” to develop a hunger for the Lord. We pray for Jesus to call these covenant children to Himself, for Him to place a hedge of protection around them, for Him to frame the most important ideas and ideals in their minds and hearts. And if watching winter cold give way to spring flowers encourages my heart, imagine the excitement as I wait in expectation as these little ones grow.

Leave a Reply

