Joy Comes in the Morning


Oh my dear Kelsey Ann, first born to Bryan and Stacey,

I have prayed for your coming throughout the night in the midst of …

  • my reading of Jeremiah, a book, I am told, that Hebrew men did not read until age 30 because of its dark prophecies and relentless sorrows
  • a physical distance of thousands of miles and enough time zones to make us six hours apart by the clock –from Maryland to Hawaii
  • an anxious heart for your Mommy who has been so sick these nine months
  • the July death of your Grandma Great Wolfe at age 94
  • a fearful quickening of my heart for your health and prayers for your safe arrival

Yet the psalmist records in Psalm 30:5  “Weeping may remain for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” So Jesus gently readjusts my mind and heart through His word, and I focus on joy, His joy. The God of the universe anchors my thankful heart in over 200 verses that speak of joy. My own life verse, Nehemiah 8:10 says, “Nehemiah said, ‘Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is sacred to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.'”

From our log cabin in the woods, we received photos from your Daddy.

First we saw just a tiny view of your 6pounds 8 ounces, swaddled and resting on your Mommy.

Then came pictures of your Daddy as he rocked you, warming cap covering so much of your little face that I couldn’t really see you as I wanted.

Then we saw all of YOU, and that dark brown hair like your Mommy’s made us smile. That photo opened both my tears and heart because your tiny hand wrapped around your Daddy’s fingers. I knew then that he would always love and protect you and your Mommy. For you, he will always fight away wild animals, not to mention young men!

As you grow up, I pray you’ll find joy as only God can give it. You will have to battle many false ideas in this world, Kelsey Ann, but know this: “For all the gods of the nations are idols, but the Lord made the heavens. Splendor and majesty are before him; strength and joy in his dwelling place.”

3 thoughts on “Joy Comes in the Morning

  1. Psalm 89:1-2

    1 I will sing of the mercies of the LORD forever;
    With my mouth will I make known Your faithfulness to all generations.

    2 For I have said, “Mercy shall be built up forever;
    Your faithfulness You shall establish in the very heavens.”

Leave a Reply

