Waiting in Anticipation


Last Christmas, when Aunt Stacey and Uncle Bryan came to Georgia to celebrate Christmas together with us and the Davenports, they played with their only niece. We knew that Little Stuff, seated here on the couch between her aunt and uncle,  would be a big sister in April. We received pre-Christmas news when Bryan and Stacey announced that they would welcome their first child to their hearts and home in August.  The excitement for me ran high, to say the least. What better time to think of infants than Christmas? Every year the incarnation startles me! Who can fathom the sheer condescension of God to come in the form of a baby to rescue fallen men and women?

So the excitement built here in the Wolfe and Davenport households. Dave and I even went to Georgia in March rather than waiting for April. And in March, about two weeks early, our anticipation was rewarded when our second granddaughter burst onto the scene in time for St. Patrick’s Day. Three generations of beautiful women celebrated together. Waiting 36-40 weeks for an infant to develop and come into the world causes excitement, some anxious moments, and a host of hormonal upheavals. Somewhere in our prayers, both suspense and hope mingle. We pray for this new person long before we ever meet face to face.

We all watch and wait to see how the sisters will bond. The parents and grandparents take a corporate breath and hold it. Little Stuff touches Baby Sister, actually cradles the newborn, and something electric happens. The head of blond curls leans down and with the gentleness of a butterfly landing on a milkweed pod, the first tentative kiss happens. Do angels sing? Does my heart split wide open in gratitude to God for this miracle He allows us to witness? I catch my breath and stand by the bedside of my son, daughter-in-love, and these two girl gifts from heaven. I think I have waited to be a grandmother forever.

Mother’s Day weekend comes and we celebrate again in Georgia, but this time with the Quinteros. Since Stacey and Bryan both are home from Hawaii, we hold a baby shower to welcome this little one. The excitement and anticipation show on Stacey’s face because she’s about to be a mom. Truth be told, she also can’t wait to feel human again once she delivers this tiny one. The sonograms tell us she and Bryan will have a baby girl. How may ways can joy mingle with enthusiasm? I know of three — and they all look good in pink! How I feel the distance of those six hours that separate the East Coast from Honolulu! How soon will I press my cheek against that downy hair of this baby? Spoiled, I admit, I held Little Stuff when she was 2 days old. With Baby Sister , I was in town and met her within hours of her arrival.  For this third grandchild, I would wait longer.

The phone rang after 9 AM here, but Hawaii time showed about 3 AM. You, newest child of my heart, arrived in August. You bring the granddaughter total to three, and I now think and dream in pink.  I have photos of you on my phone and my computer; I have seen video of you as your Daddy and Mommy invite you to play with the monkey that hangs over your play mat, and we have Skyped.  But I have yet to hold you in my arms, to inhale the baby soft hair that smells of Johnson and Johnson shampoo, to cuddle you close to my heart. Words flee my brain as I vainly try to capture the way my heart aches to meet you. Grandpa and I have packed and we’ll wing our way to you the day after tomorrow.

If this kind of  heart swell affects me about going to meet you, dear one, what must the God of heaven feel as He watches His children prepare to meet with Him each day. I sense my wonder, overflow of love and adventure, the “can’t wait” feeling, that is involved in meeting you. I ask myself if I bring as much enthusiasm when I meet Jesus each day. Please forgive this old heart, Lord. May wonder and awe always capture my heart whenever I meet you, touch the truths of your Word, know a bit more of your sacrifice and grace for me. I who go to meet a child, must remember to come to You as a child.

Leave a Reply

