Inspired by Spurgeon


Lattice WorkIn the early December quiet of the basement, Dave constructed a beautiful red cedar arbor as a Christmas gift to me.

Given the multiple inches of snow outside, the lattice trellis will reside downstairs until spring finally emerges on our ridge. Dave will apply a coat of sealer before the wood faces the weather on Bearfoot Road.

I have begun to consider what climbing plants might survive and thrive in our zone 5 setting. Besides heartiness, I want foliage that will allow the sun to create intricate patterns through the wooden slatted framework.

Currently the lattice overlays family photos and the verse I chose as our family verse when my in-laws celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary in 1998.

Isaiah 59: 21. “As for me, this is my covenant with them, says the Lord, ‘ My Spirit, who is on you, and my words that I have put in your mouth will not depart from your mouth, or from the mouths of your children, or from the mouths of their descendants from this time on and forever,’ says the Lord.”

 

 

Then, when I opened our church bulletin on Sunday, January 16, I read this quote from the writings of  Charles Spurgeon.

“Brethern, you and I, to whom this sovereignty has looked forth through the lattice of grace, can gladly appreciate it. We bless that wonderful, discriminating love which fixed upon us, whilst others were let go to their downward course and perish. The only motive God had to stir his mercy, was his own will. To us, therefore, it is precious.”

My eyes again focused  through  the cedar grid at photos representing generations of lives who have experienced God’s love through the “lattice of grace.”

And I stand humbled, amazed once again at God’s grace.

And I breathe prayers for those who do not yet know Him.

 

Leave a Reply

