Heirlooms


What will you leave as an heirloom or more importantly, as a legacy? Recently I looked at  Stacey’s silver rattle, now used by her six-month-old daughter.

After a busy day of play on one of Baby’s favorite quilts, the rattle rests next to the verse stitched into the fabric: “”I know the plans I have for you — plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’,  declares the Lord.”

Then I admired a cloth piece of Japanese  writing Bryan had stretch and framed, matted and then placed into a shadow box. Either his grandmother or his great-grandmother did the writing, since both served in Japan as missionaries.

Mom Wolfe learned the language starting at age three, and remained fluent in Japanese until very late in her life.  Thus,she is likely the artist who created the piece.

The framer finished the work so Bryan had it in time for Stacey’s birthday. Tonight, he and his Dad positioned the artwork, and a legacy now adorns the dining room wall. He has had people who read Japanese attempt to translate the entire piece, but since the style in antiquated, he has only words and phrases to date. With the words love, heart and soul identified, we think it may be the Japanese for the scripture from Deuteronomy 6: 5 “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and all your soul and with all your strength.”

Finally, I keep staring at the beautiful birthday gift I received from Bryan and Stacey. Since they didn’t want to mail the package, I opened my gift when Stacey opened her presents on her birthday.

I gently opened the black and gold box from Maui Divers’ Jewelry to discover a stunning silver gray pearl necklace, its luster complemented by a lovely diamond. Although new, I treasure it already.

In reading the background about this Tahitian pearl, I find that the ancient Greeks believed pearls symbolized love. This tradition continues today when a bride wears pearls on her wedding day. I think about the pearl of great price spoken of in scripture.

The silver rattle, the Japanese artwork, and the stunning pearl all fit into the category of treasured heirlooms.The English Oxford Dictionary says an heirloom is “a valuable object that has belonged to a family for several generations.”

In contrast, a legacy involves “an inheritance, heritage, bequeathal, bestowal, benefaction, endowment, gift, patrimony, heirloom, settlement,birthright, or provision.”

I wish to leave a legacy to the next generation of  Wolfe children, a love for and a personal relationship with the Lord. While I can read them Bible stories, write letters to them now, and have Christian worldview conversations in the future with them, I cannot give them Jesus. Each person in every generation must hear that call, acknowledge her own sinfulness and cherish the grace God gives her to hand Him the reigns of her heart. As her grandma, I can, and do, pray for her to know the precious faith shared by her family.

The Wolfe heirloom verse comes form Isaiah 59:21

21“’As for me, this is my covenant with them,’ says the LORD. ‘My Spirit, who is on you, and my words that I have put in your mouth will not depart from your mouth, or from the mouths of your children, or from the mouths of their descendants from this time on and forever,’ says the LORD.”

Leave a Reply

