Knowing Who and Whose I Am


Getting the long view gives perspective. Artists know the importance of capturing that viewpoint. And novelists seek to weave a plot that keeps the reader wondering but have an angle for wrapping things up in a satisfying way.

The view of Broadford Lake always raises my eyes, giving me an outlook larger than the mundane, a lens focused on the God of Creation.

When looking at God’s artistry in my surroundings, my Soul Anchor rests secure in who and whose I am.

“Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap, nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?” asks Jesus in Matthew 6.

The Sovereign Teacher clearly knows the answer to His rhetorical question. Consider the Old Testament text  in Isaiah 43. “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are mine.”

 

What a proclamation of identity!

When illness or trials of various types come, Isaiah 43 also offers comforting truth well worth contemplating:

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you; when you walk through the fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

And when the Enemy pounds on my heart with lies about my true identity, and God’s sovereignty, I need only look at the multi-colored beauty the Master Sculpture molded into just one flower out in the yard.

Pair His attention to a wildflower called Sweet William that will last only briefly, and I know that He cares for my daily needs. Lord of all, the same yesterday, today and forever.

Overwhelmed with who He is, I remember Paul’s words in 2 Corinthians 1:21-22.“And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.”

One thought on “Knowing Who and Whose I Am

Leave a Reply

