Letters from Grandma!


Bryan and TylerBryan holding Tyler David Wolfe

Born September 24, 2012

12:51 am

Tripler Hospital

Honolulu, Hawaii

7 pounds 2 ounces

19 1/2 inches long

September 24, 2012

Welcome Tyler David, our first grandson,

What a gift you are to us, little guy! Your Daddy called us at 7:30 this morning to say you’d been born about half an hour earlier, 12:51 AM in Hawaii. Later today we received a phone photo of Daddy showing you with one eye opened, like you were winking at us, or maybe reminding us that you’d be into lots of mischief, like your Daddy! We can hardly wait to hold you on November 8th when we visit.

God chose to deliver you into a family that serves Jesus and will spend time loving you and showing you His world, His ways. Besides Mommy and Daddy’s influence, a two-year-old sister Kelsey, and Zeus, the family dog, will hug and slobber all over you. Tyler, you have lots of extended family also thrilled to meet you in person. Tutu, your Grandma Quintero, will welcome you when you come home from the hospital. You’ll like meeting Grandpa Q too, as well as aunts, uncle and cousins.

When your oldest cousin, Austyn Grace, was born, I found writing letters to each grandchild something that God nudged me to do. When you grow up and can read the letters, I pray you’ll know the most important things in this world deal with your spiritual life. So every Monday for the next year, I’ll give you a little peak into my heart, sometimes sharing the lessons I’m learning from the Bible; other weeks celebrating your newest accomplishments; in still other letters, recalling some of the things your Daddy did as he grew up.

Your Daddy took a picture from the hospital room when the sun came out on Monday morning, the 24th, capturing a rainbow arched in the sky, a symbol of God’s promises to us. That inspiration sent me to Genesis 9:13-16, and I prayed these verses for you:

I have set my [God’s] rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.   Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds,   I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.   Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.

So sweet baby boy, we already love you and have begun to pray that the Lord will call you into this covenant relationship with Him when you hear His voice. Your sister Kelsey already recognizes you as “cute,” so grandpa and I can hardly wait to meet you.

Sending you hugs and prayers,

Grandpa and Grandma Wolfe

Kelsey’s announcement about Tyler:

“He’s cute.”

3 thoughts on “Letters from Grandma!

  1. Morning, Flo! I’m up watching a sunrise (admittedly, the tiny patch of mirrored sun reflecting off the little bit of the Chesapeake Bay we can still see – between houses built up on the beach), and just read your lovely letter to your precious little grandson. I love that you write letters to the grandchildren. Those are once-in-a-lifetime treasures! Lots of love to you and the family ~Nancy

  2. Found you at Ann’s. Love the picture of your new grandson. Also was happy to see the beautiful Alaska pictures & the inspiring Bible verses to accompany them. I have a son who recently moved to Fairbanks, a long way from Wyoming! Thanks for sharing, Love, Cynthia

Leave a Reply

