Living Real Life


IMG_3818

Living real life means understanding beauty, battles and brevity. This delicate columbine combines a redish-purple exterior with a salmon-colored interior. It’s a beauty in the garden.

Yet it has to battle bugs, deer, and bear, while seeking sunlight, water, and cool air to nurture its brief lifespan. The plant will die after a brief but spectacular show. As a perennial, it should return next year, but for a variety of reasons, I may enjoy it only once.

DSC_0212

I certainly can’t freeze this little cutie and grandma. We will both grow, change, find life brief, fight battles, and enjoy moments like the one above only once. He’s already too heavy for me to carry; very soon he’ll walk faster than I can!

I looked up Stephen Grellert’s quote, one I memorized while in high school:

I shall pass through this world but once. Any good therefore that I can do, or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer not neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.

IMG_3815

Here’s the reality I’m realizing: Although I hold to a theological belief and trust in eternity, I can live fundamentally with a disconnect to what I believe and how I live. I am learning to ask God for grace more quickly more often, but I still stumble. My relief comes as I realize God loves me no more and no less than He did when He first entered my life in a very personal way.

One of my former college roommates has struggled with cancer for years now. When the chemo treatments drive her blood counts dangerously low, the chemo stops and she goes to the hospital for blood transfusions, returning home for short periods of reprieve. When the cancer cells begin to reproduce like rabbits (her phrase), she begins another round of chemo.

IMG_3813

Rosie thinks of her life now not as a destination of a grandmother in a walker who ping pongs from home to hospital. No, she sees her life now as preparation for a final destination to come. So, like the Proverbs 31 woman, “she laughs at the days to come,” amd finds her contentment in Christ, her thanksgiving in her faithful husband, devoted children and grandchildren. To me, that’s a vibrant look at living real life.

Leave a Reply

