Lavish


This season of giving thanks always reminds me of bounty. The colors of burnt umber (How I love Crayola’s original color names!) painted on a cerulean canvas create soul sparks of thanksgiving that fly heavenward!

Pumpkin aromas waft upward through our log cabin, infusing our home with warmth and richness. They too draw my heart to inhale and ruminate on the goodness of the everyday, the seemingly mundane. How often do I wander through abundance and not acknowledge the sheer extravagance?
Do I see the artistry of an evening’s sunset or rush off to get somewhere without pause or reflection? Have I consider all the Lord has lavished on me? Lavish, by definition, means “to expend or bestow profusely.” Such an over-the-top word gets limited play in today’s speech. It may even sound stuffy to some. But yet..

The lavishness of autumn reawakens  me to a spectacular truth that outshines even the beauty of fall:

“We have redemption in Him through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.” Eph 1:7-8

This wood carving at Leheman’s Hardware in Dalton, Ohio, reminds me that God’s lavish grace had an unimaginable cost. With bowed head, I offer a prayer of thanks.

2 thoughts on “Lavish

  1. Beautifully written ..I can see the colors (I too love Crayola’s burnt umber) and smell your delicious muffins *virtually that is.) Love fall, miss it here in TX. It is not fall yet but today is a bit cooler. Could Fall be here sooner than we realize?

Leave a Reply

